The Sweeter {Vegan} Side

The wonderful thing about vegan baking is that you don’t have to wait for ingredients to come to room temperature. With no eggs or butter, I can bake at a moment’s notice. That’s what happened this week. I wanted something sweet to eat on my Vegan Tuesday.

imgp3625

As I flipped through Veganomicon looking for something to satisfy my sweet tooth, I happened upon a recipe for Jelly Doughnut Cupcakes. The recipe was easy and straightforward. I had all the ingredients on-hand and didn’t have to wait for them to get to proper temperature. :P

imgp3622These were very moist and delicious. The tops get nice and crispy like a doughnut and the center has the surprise of jelly. You can find the recipe here.

I also made Tamarind Lentils from Veganomicon and served them with brown rice, broccoli, and a whole-wheat. pita. I love tamarind, so it was a no-brainer that I was going to make it when I saw it in the cookbook. The end result is a sweet and spicy satisfying dish. You can find the recipe here.

imgp3701

13 thoughts on “The Sweeter {Vegan} Side

  1. I never thought of it that way, not having to wait for products to go to room temperature! This is really a neat looking recipe. I want to try it out. I mean you can not go wrong with Jelly Doughnuts!

  2. I am so impressed with all of your forays into vegan cooking. I’m fascinated by it but it frightens me at the same time. No eggs? No butter? My brain just sort of freaks out and stalls when I think about it. However, all of these vegan Tuesdays are really making me want to try it. And, when I finally get up the courage, I think that these muffins are going to be the very first thing that I try. They look scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

