{TWD} Fleur de Sel Caramel & Cardamon Crunch Bars with Coffee Ice Cream

imgp3631

I’m eating way too many of these bars while watching the Red Carpet and the Oscars. They’re so good, the bars. The Oscars, I’m sure will be long and drawn out. But I’ll watch the whole show anyway.  And eat these bars–with Coffee Ice Cream!

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe, from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking…From My Home to Yours, is Carmel Crunch Bars.

imgp3673

The bars were quick and easy to make and bake. The cookie base is a brown-sugar shortbread with finely chopped chocolate {I used semi-sweet}. The original recipe called for cinnamon. Because I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to grind cinnamon, I substituted cardamon. Plus I thought cardamon would pair well with the espresso powder {and Coffee Ice Cream!} and chocolate  in the recipe.

Once the base is done baking, it is topped with more finely chopped chocolate {semi-sweet again} which melts for a couple minutes in the just-turned-off oven.

imgp2211

Instead of using Heath Toffee Bits for the topping, I chopped up some  homemade Fleur de Sel Caramels I had left over from November’s Daring Bakers challenge.  This created a nice caramely layer over the chocolate.

imgp3679

The Playing Around suggestion with this recipe is to make Caramel Crunch Ice Cream Bars. I love making {and eating!} ice cream, so of course I would take up the suggestion. I made Coffee Ice Cream! from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop. You can find the recipe here.

imgp3676

Thank you to Whitney of What’s left on the table? for selecting these absolutely wonderful bars. You can find the recipe on her blog. YUM!

75 thoughts on “{TWD} Fleur de Sel Caramel & Cardamon Crunch Bars with Coffee Ice Cream

  1. Now that is an Oscar worthy dessert from top to bottom. I’ve yet to make fleur de sel caramel (I love the way the words just flow in the name alone), and I still haven’t made the Lebovitz coffee ice cream despite the fact that it is my favorite flavor. The combination of all of them together is inspired. You are so talented!

  2. Girl I love love love coffee ice cream. My favorite! Your bars look wonderful. I also watched the oscars. . . just can’t keep my eyes off of Hugh Jackman! :) Yes, I’m married, but I can still look.

  3. It looks like anything by Dave Lebovitz paired perfectly with these crunch bars!!! I love the coffee ice cream, and your bars look absolutely gorgeous! Love that you used homemade caramels!

  4. I just knew that you’d make something beyond fantastic out of these bars. In fact, I was wondering what it’d be while I was making them myself. I made DL’s coffee ice cream last summer — best coffee ice cream ever.

  5. OK..two quick comments. One, great idea about using the fleur de sel caramels and using coffee ice cream. I am a big cardamom fan too. But…how did you possibly have leftover caramels from November? You have way more self control than I do!

  6. Mmm, I love that you used cardamom and caramel in this recipe. It only made it sound even more enticing! I can’t wait to try these scrumptious bars for myself.

  7. You sinful, you! You put very, very bad intentions in my mind… LOL LOL

    Hummm… now, for the coffee ice cream… (slurp!) LOL

    Very well done, Pinkstripes!

  8. I got stuck at the point where you mention “leftover caramels.” Wow, I can’t imagine having leftover caramels! I lack the willpower!

  9. I did the same thing . . used what I had. I ended up using butterscotch chips (not as fancy as your caramels) but it worked. So addictive, isn’t it?

    We also watched the Oscars, too while snacking on crunch bars and ice cream. Life is good. ;)

  10. Wendy, I love that you incorporated an “on hand” item which happened to be amazing into this recipe. I surely wish I could be a taster for you. yum. They look and sound by your description delicious. I love making ice cream too.
    re: your comment, I love those tiny “sinless” little cookies. It does seem like that smallish amount of dough bakes and bakes forever , huh? They are warm and delicious with the addition of oatmeal, I think.

  11. Your version looks insanely good. For some reason, I don’t think that the leftover Kraft caramels I have from Halloween would create the same effect as your fleur de sel caramels!

  12. Don’t you love it when you can use TWD leftovers and DB leftovers together. Yours look fantastic. I will HAVE to try these……

  13. Now you have the RIGHT idea! You actually put the CARAMEL in these Caramel Crunch Bars! That looks fantastic…and with homemade coffee ice cream – out of this world!

  14. Wow…very creative and lovely. It’s why I drop by every week…I always know that I will learn something, see something new, think in a new way, and drool over your photos! You never disappoint…great job!

  15. whoa…you really took it to a new level! Love your spin on these!! And I love red carpet watching too–and always make a better dinner/dessert on the “award” nights! (Emmys; Golden Globes; Oscars!)

  16. Great choice on using cardamom! Cardamom and coffee are classic together. Is there anything better than salt caramels? What a great addition to the tops of these cookies. They look great.

  17. I really like the idea of using cardamom in these instead of the cinnamon. I liked the espresso powder, but wasn’t that thrilled with the cinnamon. And your caramels look delicious.

Leave a Reply

