Nutella is always good

Today is World Nutella Day!!!

For some unknown reason, Nutella is not as big a thing in the United States as it is in the rest of the world. Groceries in the US , if they have it at all, place Nutella way up high on a small little portion of shelf next to the infinite varieties of Peanut Butter. To me, Nutella is heaven on earth and it is a mystery why we don’t have shelves and shelves of it.

I was recently in a grocery store in Pape’ete, Tahiti and when I saw this I just had to take a picture:

imgp2340

A Wall of Nutella!!

So thank you to Ms Adventures in Italy, Bleeding Espresso, and World Nutella Day for creating and coordinating  World Nutella Day.

imgp3523

In honor of World Nutella Day, I made Sugared Puff Pastry Crisps with Nutella. I meant to add sliced banana, but I ate all of the bananas. :P  There really is no recipe for this, it’s more of an assembly-type thing.

You take packaged puff pastry, roll it to 12″ x12″. Cut out 2″ circles, brush a little bit of melted butter on both sides,  and press each circle into sugar (I used vanilla sugar this time). Lay each prepared circle on parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Cover with another piece of parchment paper and then place another cookie sheet on top of it. Bake at 400 F for 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from oven and cool completely on a rack.  Slather on the Nutella and enjoy! YUM!

imgp3520

Or you can just eat Nutella straight from the jar with a spoon, which is always good. :P

imgp3527

Updated: OMG, I can’t believe I forgot to include this picture also from Pape’ete, a Nutella Macaron:imgp2351

26 thoughts on “Nutella is always good

  1. I just want to go and live amongst the Nutella jars – I think I’d be very happy.

    My favorite way to eat it is straight from the jar – which is why I don’t keep it around!

  2. That wall of Nutella is awesome, you certainly won’t see that in many places in the States. This really is some dangerous stuff to have around the house, it is just too good to resist, and with puff pastry no less! That is like the ultimate indulgence.

  3. These look delish! I must admit that if I made these I’m not sure how much nutella would actually make it onto the pastry!

  4. I never even heard of nutella until I started blogging & you’re right when I went looking for it I found it on the top shelf and there was just one row!
    ~ingrid

  5. I can’t believe I missed World Nutella Day…I think I will have to stage a belated celebration. Your picture of all of the jars in the store is awesome!

  6. Wow, that is a LOT of Nutella! LOL, there won’t be a shortage in that town.

    I’ve never been able to get used to the taste of Nutella… but everyone else I know seems to love it.

  7. Mmmm…those puffs with Nutella look like bite-sized pieces of heaven.

    When were you in Tahiti? We went there for our honeymoon–I love seeing other people’s pictures and reminiscing about how beautiful it is there. You must share!! :)

  8. That is an amazing looking slather of Nutella on those pastries. Sounds SO good. But then again, what doesn’t sound good with Nutella on it. Love the banana addition, too!

Leave a Reply

