{TWD} Peace*Love*Happiness

imgp3445

YUM! So good. Now I know. That is all. :P

Okay, I finally made Dorie Greenspan’s famous World Peace Cookies {the cookie formerly known as the Korova}, a chocolate and salt bite-size treat.

imgp34431

I stuck to the recipe except for at the point of adding the chopped chocolate. I divided the dough into thirds. In the first third I mixed in chocolate-covered sunflower seeds, in the second I mixed in white chocolate chunks, and in the final third I kept to the recipe and added in chopped bittersweet chocolate. You might think I was being creative, but really I was just trying to use up bits and ends of pantry items.

imgp3471

When it came time to slice the dough to make the cookies, I only sliced off a bit of each and stuck the rest in the freezer. I rolled some of the plain chocolate cookies in chopped pistachios.

imgp3475

These cookies were very easy to make. The texture was great and the taste was wonderful.  Thank you to Jessica of cookbookhabit who selected these out-of-the-world cookies for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie. Visit Jessica’s blog for the recipe.

imgp3495

A United Nations delegation of World Peace Cookies. :P

66 thoughts on “{TWD} Peace*Love*Happiness

  1. Great minds think alike! At least, I was THINKING that pistachios would be sooo good in these (not that I added any … I was having too much fun getting mine to hold together). Yours look wonderful…and I know they tasted wonderful!

  2. You never cease to amaze me with your creativity! Those cookies look so great!
    Next time I would add other things to my cookies like you did! You are my inspiration… :)

  3. Thanks for all the great ideas for ways to mix it up! They all look great – but the pistachios are calling my name the loudest! Really, they are worth all the hoopla, aren’t they?

  4. Awesome job on the cookies, even though you were just trying to use up some ingredients it still was a great idea putting your own spin on the cookies.
    ~ingrid

  5. You couldn’t just do one variation, could you? I mean, you’re making the rest of us look bad! :)

    Where do you find chocolate covered sunflower seeds?

  6. Yours turned out so cute – I was wondering what those little multi-colored things were, and I think it’s the first time I’ve seen someone use chocolate covered sunflower seeds in cookies!

  7. Woohoo! She went all out, this week… pistachios, candied sunflower seeds, white chocolate chunks… hummmm… a little of everything, for everyone! That what I call World Peace – no reason to fuss, you can get what you want!!! LOL
    Beautiful and very creative Pinkstripes!

  8. Awesome pantry additions! I do that a lot, too.
    I have some of those candy coated sunflower seeds and haven’t found just the right thing to do with them yet. Hmmm…
    Your cookies look great.

  9. You always do such great things with pistachios and the green and brown combination on the cookie is so pretty. I know that it’s the way something tastes that counts, not the way it looks, but since we know these cookies are fantastic, I just love the pistachio addition.
    I always feel such a sense of accomplishment when I finally use up the last of a pantry item that’s been hanging around. I think it’s the decluttering aspect that I love.
    All of your cookies look beautiful! I knew I’d find a great twist on World Peace Cookies on your blog.

  10. You had some good stuff in your pantry : ) I love chocolate covered sunflower seeds, but I never thought of using them in cookies. They look so pretty!

  11. I love these cookies! The saltiness is such a nice contrast in a rich chocolaty cookie. As for yours, chocolate covered sunflower seeds sound very interesting (in a good way, not in the non-committal way people throw that observation around, hehe).

  12. They look so great. All nicely shaped and uniform. Your creative use of the add-ins is very inspiring…I can see where my guys would like all those variations! Back to the kitchen for me to try your suggestions…they have already eaten the ones I made, and are asking for more…guys and cookies…they go together like guys and cookies…LOL! Great job!

  13. Don’t keep me in suspense? Which one did you like the best?? Love the color that the pistachios give the cookies. Yum. Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

Leave a Reply

