Vegan Cookies

imgp3280Okay, so I’ve been good perfect at sticking with my plan to eat vegan on Tuesdays. There are a lot of yummy recipes that either just happen to be vegan or can easily be adapted. As long as I plan my day and bring plenty of food with me to work, it has been a breeze. This week I decided to venture into vegan baking. After all the butter in my recent croissants and other baking, I really wanted to make something healthier.

Don't you want one?
Don’t you want one?

I found this recipe in the Feb 2009 issue of Vegetarian Times. I liked it because it didn’t call for any unusual ingredients. The actual title of the cookie is: The Heart-Healthiest Chocolate Cookies in the World. And they are, because they are made up of walnuts that you grind up into your own walnut butter, oat flour, oatmeal, chocolate. For the life of me, I can’t find the recipe either my copy from the magazine or online. Please let me know if you find it online.

imgp3377

For Vegan Tuesday I also made: Sweet Potato-Pecan Burgers with Carmelized Onions {<–recipe here}, from the Jan/Feb 2009 issue of Cooking Light and Roasted Green Beans and Cashews {<–recipe here} from the Feb 2009 issue of Gourmet. Both were very delicious. The burgers took some time to make, but they were worth it. They held together and didn’t break apart when cooking, which is a hazard with homemade veggie burgers.

imgp3365 imgp3372

The roasted green beans were super easty to make. You just toss the green beans, cashews, and shallots with olive oil and season with  salt/pepper and toss the whole thing in the oven. Please note that either the temp or the time is wrong as written in the recipe. I would roast at 400 for 25 minutes or so.

imgp3374

7 thoughts on “Vegan Cookies

  1. Yes, I do! (want one). I’m also really intrigued by the sweet potato burgers. I love sweet potatoes, so I’m sure I’d love these. Not sure I noticed that recipe when I flipped through my CL, so I’ll go look again! Looks like a great dinner all around.

  2. Everything looks super good. I was wondering about those burgers in Cooking Light and debating on whether or not I should give them a shot. Good to hear they were yummy!

  3. everything looks wonderful! a friend gave me a vegan baking book, but most of the recipes involve margarine and i just can’t go there…

    i do the vegan thing a bit more informally–trying to balance out a dairy heavy meal or dessert with all-plant based meals the rest of the day. i can’t give up my cafe au lait twice a day, though:)

Leave a Reply

