{TWD} Ginger and Apples

imgp3321

One of the benefits of joining an online baking group where other members select the weekly recipe is that you end up baking things you never in a million years would  bake it on your own. This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie selection is probably the very last recipe I would bake in Dorie Greenspan‘s Baking…From My Home to Yours.

Heather of Sherry Trifle (<–go here for the recipe) selected Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread for this week. I’m not a gingerbread fan. I don’t like gingerbread cookies and gingerbread people send me  screaming around the holidays. On the otherhand, I love ginger. Fresh, pickled, crystillized. It doesn’t matter the form.

Never one to back down from a challenge, I forged ahead with the task at hand and made a half-recipe. I made a few other changes too. Instead of using bittersweet chocolate in the cake, I used milk chocolate (I stuck with bittersweet for the glaze) and instead of molasses (I’m not a fan of it)  I used Golden Syrup. I also didn’t bother to look for stem ginger.

imgp3327

The result: OMG. I couldn’t stop eating it. It was so good. I loved the flavor, I loved the texture. I loved it still warm when I removed it from the pan. I loved it at room temperature. I loved it the next day. I loved it with the glaze. The next time the holidays roll around I am going to make this.

It turns out that I like gingerbread just fine, well more than just fine obviously. It’s the MOLASSES flavor I can’t stand. Molasses is the culprit. In the end, my co-workers only received 1/2 of the 1/2 recipe I made, but that’s okay because I again went back and completed another recipe that was selected before I joined TWD: Russian Grandmothers’ Apple Pie-Cake.

imgp3345

Natalie from Burned Bits (<–go here for the recipe) selected the apple pie-cake way back in March 2008. One of the Playing Around options given by Dorie was to make turnovers and that’s what I did. Apple Pie-Cake-Turnovers. These were absolutely wonderful. The crust is cakey and the filling is out of the world. In fact, making the filling recipe as is gives you way more filling than you need for the turnovers. I’ve been eating the leftover filling for breakfast with yogurt. Very delicious.

So on Monday, my co-workers received very delicious gingerbread and yummilicious apple pie-cake-turnovers. Everyone loves me. Yes, they do.

imgp3360