Bulgur with Curried Vegetables

One of my food related new year’s  resolutions for 2009 is to eat vegan on Tuesdays. This week I made Bulgur with Curried Vegetables. I found the recipe in this month’s issue of Vegetarian Times. Very easy to make and very few ingredients. My kind of recipe. Tastes great too!

imgp3117

Bulgur with Curried Vegetables

Adapted from Vegetartian Times January 2009
  • 3/4 cup bulgur
  • 2 cups  diced red potatoes, about 2 medium or 4 small
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  1. Bring 1 1/2 cups of water to boil in a medium saucepan. Add bulgur and a pinch of salt. Remove from heat, cover, and let stand for 30 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile coat large skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium high heat. Add potatoes and cook for 12 or so minutes until potatoes begin to brown. Add ginger and curry powder, cooking for another 2 minutes. Add frozen peas and broccoli. Cook until heat through.
  3. Combine bulgur with vegetables, season with salt and pepper, and serve.

Makes 4 to 6 servings.

7 thoughts on “Bulgur with Curried Vegetables

  1. I just bought this issue and there are so many delicious things I want to make. This looks fabulous and so easy! I love curry. I am thinking we would get along well sharing food.

  2. I always do parsley and lemon with bulger, this is a great new way to serve it, thanks!
    I like the idea of vegan once a week. I try to cook some vegan for my daughter when she is home from university.
    I did read The Beauty Myth several years ago. Great book!

  3. That looks like a nice and healthy dish! My cousin does the same thing on Tuesdays. I wish I could do the same, but I can’t get past a day without eating meat at least for twice my meals. If I don’t, I end up getting so hungry I eat everything in sight!!

  4. What is bulgur like? I just recently tried quinoa and shrimp for the first time. My New Years resolution is to try new things and be more adventurous, I’d love to try this!

Leave a Reply

