Quinoa and Corn Flour Crepes

imgp3053

I’m cooking my way through  Heidi Swanson‘s Super Natural Cooking in an effort to learn how to incorporate different types of whole and natural foods into my daily diet. This week, in addition to the Do-It-Yourself Power Bars, I made Quinoa and Corn Flour Crepes.

The crepe batter was made using 3 types of flour: quinoa, corn, and white whole wheat; eggs, salt, and water. The crepes by themselves tasted hearty and healthy. I liked them, but they’re definitely not your typical crepe.

imgp3042

As suggested, I filled the crepes with a mixture of Peruvian purple potatoes and red potatoes, Gruyère cheese, and chives. I added Sriracha. YUM! Purple potatoes, because of their color, have antioxidents (or it could be the other way–they have their color because of the antioxidents :P ).

imgp3054

3 thoughts on “Quinoa and Corn Flour Crepes

  1. Wow, these look really great. I always have a hard time finding healthy recipes – most people blog about desserts (admittedly, I do too). I like seeing something different, I may have to try this!

Leave a Reply

