Steel-cut Oatmeal, two-ways and Wild Rice Flour Pancakes

The next two recipes in Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Cooking was Steel-cut Oatmeal, seven-ways and Wild Rice Flour Pancakes.

I only tried the oatmeal two ways. My usual way to eat oatmeal–the boring, traditional way–with raisins, brown sugar, and a little bit of milk. And one way suggested by Heidi–with pomegranate molasses and toasted walnuts. Both were delicious.

Brown sugar, raisins, and milk

Brown sugar, raisins, and milk

Pomegranate molasses and toasted walnuts

Pomegranate molasses and toasted walnuts

You can find pomegranate molasses in  Middle-Eastern or gourmet/specialty grocery stores. I found it at my local, non-chain gourmet grocery. I liked it as an addition to oatmeal and I think it would be great on plain vanilla ice-cream. The tart flavor of the molasses would complement the sweetness of the ice cream.

imgp2218

The wild rice flour pancakes were another story. I won’t make this recipe again. I don’t like wild rice, so it’s no surprise that I didn’t like pancakes made with wild rice flour. Even with only  a 1/2 cup to the 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour, I could still taste the woodsy flavor of wild rice. Yuck! At least I tried it…

imgp2219

5 thoughts on “Steel-cut Oatmeal, two-ways and Wild Rice Flour Pancakes

  1. You’re doing better than me–I won’t even eat oatmeal one way! =) It’s pretty neat that you’re trying new stuff. Most days, I feel like I’m doing pretty well to put some whole wheat flour into my baked goods…

  2. I love oatmeal and have a tin of McCann’s Steel Cut Irish Oats. I need to get some pomegranate molasses to try this. It looks delicious.

    I left you an award on my blog. Please feel to pick one up. Please don’t feel compelled to post it. I just wanted to let you know I admire your work!

  3. I love steel cut oats too. I pour the hot cereal over fresh raspberries, sprinkle Saigon cinnamon, then a drizzle of maple syrup. So yummy! I’m surprised you don’t like the nutty flavor of wild rice if you like steel cut oats. Oh well. No worries.
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving.
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

