{TWD} Kugelhopf, or baking on faith

Recipe #304

imgp2159

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was Kugelhopf, chosen by Yolanda of The All-Purpose Girl. This was new to me, I’ve never heard of it before nor knew what it was supposed to taste like. Therefore the perfect recipe to try! I’m always up for a challenge and to try new things. Of course, I’m also always up for shopping for new kitchen toys, so I headed to Sur la Table for the traditional turban-shaped kugelhopf pan. :P

kugelhopf

This recipe took FOREVER to make.  After I mixed the ingredients, I was supposed to knead the dough until it started to climb up the dough hook and pull away from the sides. This, I read, would be in 10 minutes or so. Nope. Didn’t happen. Actually, it took closer to 30 minutes. This recipe really made me thankful for my stand mixer. :)

imgp2156

I was worried that I kneaded the dough too long and inadvertently created too much gluten, but I proceeded on faith basing my belief on the words of Peter Reinhart who says it is almost impossible for a home baker to over-knead bread. The dough rose perfectly during primary fermentation and then it went into the refrigerator for an overnight rest.imgp2161

The next day I took the dough out of the refrigerator and placed pressed it into the kugelhopf pan to proof until ready for baking. Again, it took longer than indicated in the recipe and never really rose to the top of the pan. I let it rise for 4 1/2 hours and then impatiently placed the cake in the oven to bake.

imgp2158

It’s really a sweetened yeast bread not a cake, which makes it perfect for breakfast. I liked it and think it makes the perfect breakfast bread, not too sweet and not too rich. I like the way it looks, golden and crispy. The ridges of the cake create the perfect cutting guide for the right-size portion.

47 thoughts on “{TWD} Kugelhopf, or baking on faith

  1. Yours is absolutely beautiful! I liked this too (not too sweet, beautiful texture). I’m coveting that Art and Soul of Baking book,too…let us know what else you try from it.

  2. Your kugelhopf looks great – full marks for making the effort to buy the pan. I agree that it took forever to make this, and the end result just wasn’t interesting enough for me to want to make this again.

  3. I am jealous of your proximity to Sur La Table. You lucky baker you! Your kugelhopf looks very good. Glad you enjoyed the recipe.
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  4. Hey, I went shopping at Sur la Table, too! =) I like how the kugelhopf turned out, and I’m looking forward to trying other cakes in this pan. Your bread/cake looks delicious!

  5. I LOVE your pan! I got a new “kugelhopf pan” too, but mine just looks like a regular bundt pan. Yours looks spectacular — perfect in every way. I agree that this is a great breakfast bread. It’s just getting it baked in time for breakfast that is the problem.

  6. Oh, now I totally COVET that pan. Especially if it will turn out such perfect kugelhopf! Fantastic job; faith comes through again. In our experience, it’s totally doable to make the day before. Mine came out of the oven yesterday afternoon, was great for a 9:00 pm snack, and was still delicious for breakfast this morning. We had it untoasted but toasting would no doubt take care of any little dryness that sets in overnight.

  7. Your kugelhopf looks fantastic. I had to laugh when you wrote about getting the dough into the pan. I looked at my stiff glob of dough, then at the pan, and I could not figure out how I was going to get the dough evenly around the pan. I ended up shaping it like play-doh . . . it was still a little lopsided though!

  8. Well, I was just over at Di’s and saw her Kugelhopf and whined to her about NOW needing to own the pan (and the glittery pink spatula) and I thought I’d wander over here a bit to see what you made this week, and now I KNOW WITHOUT A DOUBT I NEED THE PAN. The bundt pan will no longer suffice. Your Kugelhopf looks so amazingly perfect and wonderful from that pan. And, just to tease, you also had to show the pan in its brand new wrapper…can’t resist something like that in a brand new wrapper! When Mark asks why I need a new pan…I am telling him it is all your fault…yours and Di’s! To produce such an amazing Kugelhopf, one must OWN THE PAN! Back me up, okay? Great post.

  9. Yay! You went out and bought the pan, and from Nordic Ware too. I love you, you are my hero.
    It looks beautiful, I let mine rise longer and pressed it into the pan too. Great minds think alike!

  10. Seeing how beautifully yours turned out makes me wish I had found a kugelhopf pan. I really like how tall they turn out – just looks so much nicer than my sqatty bundt-pan version.

  11. Your kugel cake/bread looks great. So many great ideas with this cake. Did take a long time. Need some special occasion to make again. Lucky you to get the pan. Yummy!

  12. You too should receive the Kuglehopf Academy Award!!! OMG So b e a u t i f u l. Love that you could go right out and buy the proper baking toy! Anyway, so glad you had a positive experience and you’ll be way more likely to give it another go since you have the right pan as well. Great work and glad you liked it. Thanks for stopping by as well. : )
    AmyRuth

  13. That’s an A+ on presentation! First of all the pan really makes a difference – and secondly your patience on letting the dough rise for so long really paid off! Beautious!

  14. Oh wow! Your kugelhopf looks gorgeous! That’s got to be the prettiest one I’ve seen for TWD. I’m kind of wishing I went with that pan instead of the silicone one. I am always up for buying new kitchen goodies as well :) Great job!

  15. Quite the Kugelhopf. My grandma had the orginal ceramic ones that were unglazed from the Alsace-Lorraine region (North East France) She would butter the pan, then place walnuts in the botton, nix the dough, add raisons and let in rise (2 times , I believe, just like bread) Then she would bake it. After it came out of the pan, she would sprinkle with powdered sugar. These are made also with cake flour in Alsace. (Both are good.) You can add candy citrons (Like in fruitcake), almond too. It’s nice to know about the cake pans. The orginal bundt pan was designed from the ceramic form according to what I read. You can get replicas from online sites as well.

Leave a Reply

